Posted by: Catherine | June 3, 2009

Easy Indian Chicken (RR*, The Second Unconfidential Cooks’ Dinner)

indianchix

(*Reader Recipe)

spice1Kim says she is not a cook…she just makes friends with cooks. Or she doesn’t cook…she just arranges. But: What about those Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins she made for The First Unconfidential Cooks’ Dinner?  And, what about this great Indian Chicken?  When we went on the tour of the Los Angeles Farmers’ Market, Kim bought some Nomu spices, among them an Indian spice mix. She started fiddling with a chicken dish based on some serving suggestions on the label. Not long afterwards, a date was set for The Second Unconfidential Cooks’ Dinner…and it was a no-brainer that Kim would bring her perfected Indian Chicken. It is so good, and very simple to fix. Plus, the longer it sits the more the flavors meld so it’s a great dish to make when you’re having company and don’t want to spend your time whipping up something last-minute in the kitchen. Heat and serve, as they used to say.

I think what’s really interesting about cooking is that it’s very personal–we each have our own sensibilities about food–and yet it’s probably one of the most universal ways of sharing one’s self with friends and family. I love having people to our home, figuring out what they might enjoy eating and cooking for them. When someone invites us to their home, I feel as honored if they grill hot dogs as I do if they’ve spent days fixing a five-course meal–either way, I see it as a supreme act of generosity, warmth and welcome. The act of cooking (anything) is the offering, not the intricacy of the dish.

I’ve had delicious eggs at Kim’s house to celebrate Obama’s victory, and a lovely grilled chicken and roasted vegetables to celebrate her newly designed garden. In my mind, despite her protestations Kim cooks. Try this chicken recipe—you’ll see what I mean.

1 1/2 lbs. boneless chicken, cut into bite-size pieces
1 T plus 1 t. of Nomu Indian spices
3/4 of red onion (I use red because it adds color)
4 medium tomatoes
1 T of canola oil and a little extra

Put chicken in a bowl and add a tiny amount of canola oil to just lightly coat, then toss with spices.  Let it sit while chopping the onion and the tomatoes.  Add the canola oil to a large saute pan over medium/high heat and warm to coat the pan.  Add the onions and cook until just tender.  Add chicken and brown.  Add tomatoes, lower heat and cover until cooked through.  It cooks fairly fast, so check frequently.  Server over rice if desired.

Other Recipes from Kim


Responses

  1. Thank you! Here is my life philosophy on cooking: cook better than your mother-in-law and your husband is happy, but not so good that your children or their respective spouses can’t be better cooks, because then they can take over the meal preparation duties!

  2. It is neat how we can take such nice and simple ingredients and make something splendid. I gree that someone can cook me anything in their home- even PBJ- and I would be happy. Keep it all simple but delicious!

  3. Sounds like a quick & delicious meal. I have not seen Nomu Indian spices around.

  4. Love the sound of this dinner. AND thank you for reminding me about these delicious muffins. I have got to try them.

  5. Nothing could be simpler, tastier or more economical than this wonderful Indian Chicken dish. I love Nomu Indian spices. And I don’t need a spoon to eat your delicious muffins…Perfect!

    ~Thanks for sharing your wonderful dish:)

  6. I bet this is just delicious! I love the ease of it. I will be on the lookout for the Nomu Indian spices.

  7. Catherine, I loved how you said that cooking is so personal with our own sensibilities, but also being the most universal way in sharing food with our loved ones. Very nicely said!
    I just made a curry for lunch, too! yours sound more authentic, haha!

  8. MMMMMM…this looks so delicious: easy does it for me,…I love those spices!

  9. oh yum. this looks simple and delicious. i love 5-ingredient dishes

  10. This is great, Indian cooking is always require lots of labor in the kitchen. I like it simple like this too, especially if during the week. Beautifully presented, and look delicious!

  11. I’m intrigued by the Nomu Indian spices – what is in the mix?

    • Natasha, here’s what’s in the mix: coriander, chili, cumin, mustard, black pepper, fenugreek, turmeric, ginger, caraway, curry leaves, cinnamon, cloves, bay leaves, and cardamon oil. FYI, if you google Nomu spices you’ll see they’re widely available and come in a wonderful variety of mixes and “flavors.”

      • Thank you! This sounds wonderful, I will definitely look for Nomu spices to try.

  12. I’ve never heard of those spices before.

    How cool and what a simple dish to make.

    Thanks for sharing your friends recipes.

    I agree, I feel great when someone invites me over to their house for a meal, and I love having people over too!

  13. You’re so right about cooking. It’s very personal, and it’s so giving. We love doing it for ourselves and others. We should check out those Nomu spices sometime!

  14. You’re spot on 🙂 I agree with you, the most pleasurable thing about cooking, is not eating the product yourself, but watching a loved one enjoy it. Nothing makes me happier than seeing smiling faces and tummies being rubbed after tasting something I made!

    Wonderful recipe. I’ve always love Indian-style chicken, the sauce is the best. Just a little bowl of cardamom-and-cumin-flavored basmati rice and it’s PERFECTION

  15. I adore Indian-spiced food. Have not seen the Nomu spices in the Twin Cities but shall look out for them. I always love the meals where they are scrumptious and have ease – definitely a luscious winner.

  16. I love indian food, but I never think to make it at home. This looks delicious!

  17. yumm!! catherine this curry must be perfect with bread or maybe paratha 🙂 love indian food. gonna try this soon
    cheers!!


Leave a comment

Categories